Recognizing Excellence in Hospital Pharmacy: Two International Partners Join the Ranks of CSHP's Honorary Members

In March 2006, executive leadership representatives of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), the Asociación Mexicana de Farmacéuticos de Hospital (Mexican Association of Hospital Pharmacists; AMFH), and the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP) gathered at the ASHP headquarters in Bethesda, Maryland, for their annual trilateral joint officer meeting. CSHP President Emily Musing and CSHP Executive Director Myrella Roy joined Jill Martin, ASHP President; Cynthia Brennan, ASHP President Elect; Mark Woods, ASHP Immediate Past President; William Zellmer, ASHP Deputy Executive Vice President; Henri Manasse, ASHP Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer; and Fela Viso-Gurovich, AMFH President, Since they signed the North American Compact on the Advancement of Hospital Pharmacy in 2004 (see www.cshp.ca/dms/ dmsView/1 North-American-Compact-final-December-2004.pdf), the 3 organizations have met annually to advance the cause of hospital pharmacy practice across our respective countries.

At the meeting in Bethesda, Emily Musing and Myrella Roy had the privilege of paying a significant tribute to Dr Viso-Gurovich and Dr Manasse by bestowing on each of them Honorary Membership status in CSHP. The granting of these Honorary Memberships is a tangible testimony of CSHP's pledge to cooperate in improving the health and quality of life of people throughout North America by fostering the advancement of hospital pharmacy practice. Furthermore, this status recognizes the outstanding leadership role that each of these individuals has played in serving their respective organizations and in furthering hospital pharmacy practice not only in their home countries, but across

Orest Buchko Denise Chevalier Gordon Duff Sylvie Dupont Yvonne Gray Walter Maday Irene Nicoll Joseph Oddis Anne O'Toole Donald Perrier Charlotte Richter Betty Riddell



As CSHP members, please welcome and recognize Dr Viso-Gurovich and Dr Manasse as Honorary Members of our Society.

North America and worldwide. The honour was conferred on Dr Viso-Gurovich and Dr Manasse by a unanimous vote of CSHP Council earlier this winter.

Honorary Members of CSHP are elected by not less than a two-thirds vote of CSHP Council after nomination in writing by 5 active members, in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the advancement of hospital pharmacy or a related field of health. Such membership is granted in perpetuity and is exempt from payment of fees.

Dr Viso-Gurovich and Dr Manasse each received a commemorative plaque as they join the following 17 other CSHP Honorary Members:

Bernard Riedel Sister Grace Sauvé Bruce Schnell John Turnbull William Wensley